Prof. Dr. Suzanne S. Schüttemeyer

is the founding director of IParl. For many years, she has conducted empirical as well as theoretical research on parliamentary democracy and democratic representation, whether as Professor of Government and Policy Research at the Martin-Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg or as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal for Parliamentary Affairs (ZParl). For her habilitation, “German Parliamentary Party Groups from 1949-1997”, she received the Science Prize of the German Bundestag. She was President of the German Association for Political Science (DVPW) from 2006 to 2009, dean of the faculty of philosophy at the Martin-Luther-University from 2014 to 2018 and is a co-founder of the European Confederation of Political Science Associations (ECPSA).